The QiRanger Adventures

It goes both ways…

with one comment

Comments on Giving...

Comments on Giving...

While looking for a job today, I saw the following posted:

A candidate that we would NOT be interested in working with would most likely call our office one day and state one of the following:

1.​ “I’m having an allergic reaction to _______, and I need a day to recover.​”

2.​ “My grandmother’s/​grandfather’s memorial service is today.​”

3.​ “My wife/​husband is extremely ill and I need to stay home and take care of them.​”

4.​ “One of my children got in trouble at school.​ I need to go meet with his/​her teacher and the school counselor.​”

5.​ “I took some work home last night and will be going through it today from home.​”

6.​ “I have a doctor’s appointment.​”

7.​ “I got pulled over for speeding on my way to work the other day and I have to go to traffic school.​”

8.​ “My accountant made some clerical errors on my taxes and I’m being audited.​”

9.​ “My roommate left her skateboard at the top of our stairs, and well, it was all downhill from there.​”

10.​ “My wife left the window open…my flying squirrel is missing…animal control is on the way.​”

I know they’re trying to be cute. But putting such a negative spin on family and personal time just rubs me the wrong way. I would not want to work for a company that expects me to give up everything for them.

I am still left speechless.

On another note, check out my thoughts stemming from a recent Family Feud.

Written by Steve Miller

March 4, 2009 at 6:06 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I agree, Steve — I left a job a year ago (took a buyout from the failing newspaper industry) and began to realize with my next job how work did not have to be totally and only about company loyalty, unpaid overtime, weekends, and stern reactions to any life and family emergencies. This attempt at humor fell flat on its face. Sure, some of the examples are jokey and silly and would cause any supervisor to roll his/her eyes. But you’re right about the tone and what’s behind it. You’re wise to steer clear here. Good luck in your continuing search …

    'tricko

    March 4, 2009 at 8:46 am


Leave a Reply

