The QiRanger Adventures

Thoughts

with one comment

My friend Steph posted a video yesterday bringing up the subject of body modification. Not the minor modification that some of us partake in by getting a few extra piercings or tattoos, but extreme body modification. I like her style, since she does it in an entertaining way.

I decided to post a video response to this, since I’ve had a number of experiences with this. I didn’t recount them all in the video, since I was pressed for time, but I’ll do that here.

1) My ex-wife hated her nose. When she went in for sinus surgery, she elected to have her nose fixed. Now, I never thought there was anything wrong with it and didn’t understand why she wanted it altered. I also thought it was a crime the way insurance was duped into paying for it.

2) I’ve seen reports of people getting implants. I just don’t get it. If a woman has suffered through breast cancer and mad a mastectomy, reconstructive surgery is part of the healing process for most. But elective surgery for bigger breasts… I just don’t get. I know the media has a huge part to play in this, but come on – be an individual. On the same note, I’ve seen reports of men getting pectoral and calf implants to enhance their muscular definition.

3) In Korea, many people would get surgery to look more Korean/Asian. In the Philippines, people get surgery to look more Caucasian. It’s just odd!

4) I once worked with a Director of Education that was addicted to cosmetic surgery. Her boss and female peers called her Barbie, she had so much work done. I thought it was really sad that she had such little esteem and felt she needed to artificially change.

What are your thoughts on cosmetic surgery?

Written by Steve Miller

January 21, 2009 at 6:50 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Well, I’ve had not really “surgery”, but have fixed my eyes to caucasian eyes…not that you can really tell the difference..didn’t want anything TOO dramatic.. so I guess I am not one to comment. However, I draw the line with the use of scalpels..etc.. but that is for myself.

    jyankee

    January 21, 2009 at 10:48 pm


Leave a Reply

