The QiRanger Adventures

A Walk in Seoul

with 2 comments

Bosingak

Bosingak

One of the great things about being in Korea is that there’s always something new to see. Even if you’ve been somewhere before, there’s always a new angle on to be taken. Today was such the case. Most of the time when I go into Seoul, I take the bus into the main downtown area and then migrate to where I need to be. When I was reading the Lonely Planet guide one day, I saw an interesting walk that took you through some of the more historic areas of the city. I thought this would be a fantastic way to spend an afternoon and test some things out with my video camera.

The trip started about at Jonggak Station. Thankfully bus 5500 drops you off there, or else it would have been a 2 hour train ride. Just outside the station is an old temple. It’s in great shape and open to the public. Outside on the street surrounding the temple was a stage and about 50 people preparing for a protest. I’m not sure what was being said since everything was in Korean and there was no English printed on the signs except “STOP!” Whatever was preparing to take place, the police were out in full force to ensure a peaceful event.

Cheonggye Stream

Cheonggye Stream

The walk then had me switch gears and head down the street to Cheonggye Stream. This was bloody awesome. It’s something that I’ve never seen in Seoul and was quite pleased to stumble upon. It’s the result of a $313 million urban development effort and is stunning. The stream cuts through busy city and offers a tranquil escape. Furthermore, several historical markers are placed along the path that explain the history of Korea. I found it an amazing stroll. Many Koreans do as well, since very few foreigners were sighted. Stationed throughout the stream are waterfalls and fountains. In fact, under one of the overpasses was an art gallery. The prints there encompassed a wide variety of styles ranging from abstract to black and white to color pieces.

Shinsegae Fountain and Bank of Korea

Shinsegae Fountain and Bank of Korea

The trip then took me into Seoul Plaza and ultimately to Namdaemun Gate. Once reaching the gate, I backtracked on the opposite side of the street. Since I have shopped in Namdaemun Market before and have seen the gate up and close, I opted to breeze by those locations and focus on some new icons of Seoul. To the left are possibly two of my favorite things from the trip: The Bank of Korea and a bronze statue and fountain in front of Shinsegae Department Store. The Bank building was designed during the Japanese occupation in 1911 and has been used since as the headquarters for Korea’s financial district. The fountain and statue was equally impressive. The level of detail amazed me, since I have seen bronze work like that since I’ve been to Korea. The top of the fountain is fitted with lights rather than cascading water, so at night, it must look majestic.

The rest of the trek took me through various marks and to the base of Namsan Mountain. A very nice way to spend the day. Pictures can be found here of the trek.

Written by Steve Miller

November 30, 2008 at 7:37 pm

Posted in Travel

Tagged with , , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hey, you had a splendid walk around Seoul – a typical carefree Sunday stroll of my own. I can’t wait to see how you would spice up your video on the way. By the way, I’m both happy and sorry that you are back home (if I understand all right..) when the bell at the bellfry of Bosingak is to strike to herald a new year. Keep up the vibe.

    yonee oh

    November 30, 2008 at 8:42 pm

  2. […] I took Jo out on one of my favorite walks in Seoul. It’s a route picked out by Lonely Planet, and to be honest, it isn’t too bad. You […]


Leave a Reply

