The QiRanger Adventures

And now the news…

with one comment

Your presenter

Your presenter

For years I’ve always enjoyed the news and reporting on it. But as media has taken away from the hard hitting facts and replaced it sound bites, I have drifted away. One of the things that I have really enjoyed these past few months is teaching the Newspaper Class here at school. It allows me to search the news for interesting stories and discuss them with the students.

Unlike the other Honors students, mine are bright and have a firm grasp at what is really taking place in the world and are really intrigued by what I present them. They are not, however, intrigued at the enormous amounts of vocabulary I present to them each day.

But probably the most fun I have is working with them to produce their own news casts. Three times we’ve recorded episodes and each time they get more and more used to speaking in front of the camera. On the last occasion, I introduced them to a new concept – travel and lifestyle reporting. I did this because I have an idea.

One of the video projects I’ve been wanting to do for a while is report on the street side food vendors. But holding a camera, talking to the vendor, describing the food, and making it look good just didn’t seem to work. So I’m going to kill two birds with one stone. The next Honors video project will be that report. We’ll spend a week researching the food we’re going to describe, write the copy, and then film it on a Friday. I’ll splice things together over the weekend and present this project to the world (as well as their parents).

I already know two of the three foods we’ll be using… I’m getting hungry just thinking about it.

Written by Steve Miller

November 21, 2008 at 8:18 am

Posted in Food, Korea, QiRanger Report, Television

Tagged with , , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Mmmmmm…food… [drool]
    What a great idea! I’m sure the parents would love seeing that!
    You should be warned though, those kids might take over the QiRanger Reports! ; )

    Nalia

    November 22, 2008 at 5:30 am


Leave a Reply

