The QiRanger Adventures

Change

with 4 comments

Fall

Fall

So a few things have happened since I last wrote about work. In short things are starting to stabilize… well sort of. The owner is now exerting his ultimate control by micromanaging the school to the point that he no longer allows any of his four managers to actually manage.

On a daily basis, one of the managers asks herself, “Is today the day I will resign?”

It’s really sad when you think about it.

On Friday, I stepped down from my Academic Consultant managerial position. I was just tired of being asked to do work that summarily thrown out the window because my ideas don’t mesh with the owners. In many aspects, my thoughts on educational topics were more well thought out and educationally sound – which is why I think they were tossed out. As it stands now, I am returning to a pure teaching load, for the time being.

I was asked if I was resigning all together and I replied, “No. Well, as long as they continue to pay me on time, I’ll work. But if they miss one payment or try to weasel out of what’s owed me, I’ll be gone.

Written by Steve Miller

November 8, 2008 at 10:17 am

Posted in General Update

Tagged with , ,

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That kind of thing really sucks… it’s the kind of thing here too…though the pay comes in on time…it’s the general atmosphere and attitude of the general management that are unbearable.

    jyankee

    November 8, 2008 at 2:17 pm

  2. Maybe you should just quit and visit Australia… O_o

    John Lacey

    November 8, 2008 at 7:41 pm

  3. Not time to quit… As long as they pay me, I plan on working. I love teaching the kids and being in Korea. Besides, 2010 will come soon enough and I’ll be in Perth for a good two years. Then we can see about me getting a job in AU or NZ after that.

    qiranger

    November 8, 2008 at 7:44 pm

  4. Glad to hear that you love teaching the kids and being in Korea. You have a lot to offer and there are many opportunities.

    Personally, I’d love to see you working for tourism offices and the like in various countries, thus promoting the understanding between different cultures.

    galaxychorus

    November 8, 2008 at 8:17 pm


Leave a Reply

