The QiRanger Adventures

Theology

with one comment

Thought

Thought

In the past several months, I’ve received several private messages and comments on my blogs and videos asking for a detailed explanation of my faith. I never really felt compelled to do that, mainly because I thought the Internet really wasn’t the right way to go about it and because I thought the information I posted pretty well summed up my viewpoints. But the other reason I hesitated to do such, was that I really didn’t know how best to go about it. What I wanted to say or in which manner to deliver the message.

But over the last month, that’s changed. The guiding force in that movement has been my decision to stop teaching in Korea after this year, move back to the United States for a while to visit family, travel, and prepare for school in January 2010. What kind of school? A diploma of ministry.

Now what I want to do with my life can be done without such an education, but I feel compelled to pursue it. The reason being is that I’m a point in my spiritual growth that hardening. I need to be around individuals that are more learned than myself. Individuals that will challenge my beliefs and encourage (and force) me to grow. It’s something I can no longer accomplish on my own and to succeed in what I want to accomplish, I need to be in an academic environment.

So what is it exactly that I want to do? A good question. I want to reach out to communities that have been destroyed by the Church. Specifically, I want to work with Gay, Lesbian, and Transgendered people who have been told by the Church time and time again how much God hates them and that they are doomed to hell.

This is not something I believe; however, I do believe that the Church has done a great injustice to the Lord’s message over the years and managed to spread hate rather than love. In the final analysis, it’s Christ’s message of love that is at the core of Christianity. Espousing hate does nothing more than turn people away from God and label the Church as hypocritical. It does nothing more than to turn people away and shut their hearts and minds to the possibility of God.

I simply want to reach out to members of the Community. To repair the damage that has been done. I firmly believe the Church, as a whole, will remain varied in its interpretation of homosexuality. Mainly because the Church has failed to form a consensus on something as fundamental as baptism in 2000 years. Since that’s the case, how can we expect the Church to come to an agreement on such a complex societal issue in just under 40?

Written by Steve Miller

October 17, 2008 at 10:21 am

Posted in Education, Religion

Tagged with , , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Interesting. I don’t know, there is a school of thought that contends that there is something inherently masochistic about the mentality of people condemned within a framework of religion who still choose to practice that religion.

    I personally believe there is probably more value in educating the ignorant zealous types about what humanity is.

    I’m going to check out one of the “possibly related posts” to this one now, titled “Foreclosures: Did God Want You to Get That Mortgage?” (LOL)

    John Lacey

    October 17, 2008 at 12:52 pm


Leave a Reply

