The QiRanger Adventures

Old Timer???

with 2 comments

Coffee for the Seoul

Coffee for the Seoul

I’ve never thought of myself as an old timer. Hell, I never really thought of myself as old, but that may be changing. You see I had a “moment” the other day. As I was discussing something in class with my students, we were discussing age.

Age in Korea is important, as I have mentioned before, because within the social hierarchy, one should respect elders and not be overtly friendly with them. That being said, my students often inquire how old I am. When I returned the favor, I fould two students who were born in 2001.

They were true children of the 21st Century.

I am now teaching a generation that was born in the century after I was born. Something I really never had contemplated. It hasn’t made feel old per se, but put things into a new light that I will see the better part of two centuries in my lifetime.

Written by Steve Miller

October 6, 2008 at 6:50 am

Posted in Thoughts

Tagged with

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Well I dont go quite that far…though I work with colleagues born in the 80’s….that is already disturbing enough!

    jyankee

    October 6, 2008 at 12:25 pm

  2. I must confess I generally try to contextualise age within a framework relating to music. That is to say, I think what album or single releases within my collection correlate to an individual’s age. For example in a recent *ahem* rant, I noted soberly that a certain YouTuber had been physically alive for as long as Sophie B. Hawkins had had a recording career. (In actual fact that is only ten years older than I’ve been alive myself, so I’m not sure why it caused me so much grief at the time.)

    John Lacey

    October 7, 2008 at 7:37 am


Leave a Reply

