The QiRanger Adventures

Hogwan life…

with 3 comments

Chillin'

… is sometimes fairly interesting. I mean this in a loving way, since most Korean business models, practices, and expectations are not the same as many western. Yesterday was one such day when things get thrown around. I’m easy going and just roll with the changes, since in the long run, it really doesn’t affect me. Nothing I do can change the way the business and I learned a long time ago not to worry about things I have no control over.

So let’s get a little teaching update:

1) I have completed one Theme of six in my lesson plans. And while we start teaching the new curriculum on Monday, two of the books I need to actually finish the layout will not be in until Thursday. Giving me one day to finalize the lessons. The school has had all the books for months, but waited until 2 weeks until the start of the new curriculum season to actually start writing things, so it’s only now that we’re seeing all the shortfalls. Many are freaking out about this. I just laugh, since I’ve seen it in so many businesses before. As I said, I can’t change poor management, especially when it comes from the owners. I just laugh it off and do my best. I think the main reason I can do this, is that I’ve actually done the work they requested, while many others haven’t… meaning that they are scrambling to put together work that should have been completed a few weeks ago and are now realizing some of the issues they will face.

2) New incentives are about to placed at work. This I’m only hearing through the rumor mill and some stuff that was bounced in my direction in passing. I’m reserving judgement, but for the most part it is really a non-issue. Apparently they will be implementing a new “Teacher of the Month” program. That I don’t have a problem with… other than the fact, how does one establish a Teacher of the Month when the owners have no idea what really takes place in the classroom and that the “winner” will receive $200. It’s the last part that many have issues with. They don’t like that the title is tied to money and are worried that a few select few, the favorites, will win, thus causing animosity.

3) Three months of complaints and you’re out… is a new rule. I really don’t have a problem with it, since in my contract stipulates that inadequate performance is grounds for termination. The issue comes down to what is a complaint. Some parents complain about everything… “The teacher didn’t give any homework.” “The teacher didn’t check all of the homework.” “The teacher didn’t hand out the extra book.” “The teacher’s accent is too thick.” or one of my favorites, “The teacher has a scary face.” So as you can see, some of the complaints are what I call, not valid. Now if they count these non-valid complaints in the three months rule, I’d have an issue with that. But if they’re legitimate complaints, then by all means let them count. To date, I’ve had one complaint. It came from a mother saying I wasn’t giving out the storybook her child needed for homework. Seeing how I do this on the first day of every lesson, I assumed that the child had lost it and didn’t tell anyone. Nope. The child just lied, for when I gave him another copy of the story, he pulled it out of his backpack.

But it’s all good. One grand adventure. If you stress about every little thing in life, you let it pass by. Put your faith where it belongs and it always works out for the best.

Written by Steve Miller

August 26, 2008 at 7:41 am

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Relax Steve. You don’t have a scary face. lol

    John Lacey

    August 27, 2008 at 11:03 am

  2. Good to know John… good to know!

    qiranger

    August 27, 2008 at 11:05 am

  3. […] – bookmarked by 4 members originally found by Saturnebullience on 2008-11-15 Hogwan life… https://qiranger.wordpress.com/?p=225 – bookmarked by 6 members originally found by allanogg on […]

    Bookmarks about Management

    December 16, 2008 at 4:45 pm


Leave a Reply

