The QiRanger Adventures

And here we are…

with 2 comments

Smile!It’s Tuesday morning and I’m sitting here with a cup of coffee, well more accurately a pot of coffee. There’s just something about waking up in the morning, seeing the sun come up over the horizon and smelling that beautiful aroma wafting through my kitchen (or in this case, one room dongi).

So a few things have been on my mind and I thought I’d briefly go through them here:

  • First, I really do enjoy this little teaching gig. It’s relatively easy and I like the fact that I can leave the job behind. The kids are fantastic, for the most part. While there are a few bad eggs in the system (that mainly stems from them not wanting to being in class), even they aren’t as bad as many American kids in schools. Hell, there is no violence in school like I saw back home.
  • I love living in the one-room-dongi. I mean I really do. It’s great and I have plenty of room to do my stuff and I don’t miss having the big house. I REALLY don’t miss having the huge house payments and utility bills. There’s something modest about living in a studio that really resonates with me. That being said, a two-room place would be nicer, mainly so I could move my laundry around a bit.
  • I’m digging the public transportation. While I have yet to master the bus system, the subway system is fantastic! I’m really not missing having my own car. I actually prefer walking. It reminds me of when I was back in college and chose to walk to campus and the store rather than drive. The case can be made that in Arizona that I needed the car, because let’s face it, who wants to walk in 45C (113F) weather 5km (3 miles) each way to the market?
  • So far, I’ve been lucky and have avoided the rain here… but that time is is quickly abating. I will not necessarily enjoy walking to 20 minutes to the school in the rain (and less so in the snow), but on some level I really am looking forward to it. The thing I also need to get working on is finding a gym. Sure I can run outside now… but I’ll need to get something indoors soon or I’ll wind up sitting on my butt.
  • Skype is awesome. Seriously it is. I’ve been using computers to communicate abroad since 1993, and for the most part, things haven’t changed. Sure the programs have gotten flashier, but Skype is the one exception. It truly is a gret medium for reaching out while abroad and communicating with friends on-line, via chats, and getting that little sense of home. It lets you forget that you’re not there anymore and bridges the gaps until you see family and friends again. I think some of the best parts of my days can be boiled down to my Skype calls.
  • My secret is out… I had mentioned to the folks here that I made videos and when we were at Gyeongbokgung this weekend, I spent more time taking video than pictures. I was candid about wanting to throw together a video for friends and family back home. I even offered to give them a copy of the video… so Yesterday in prep time, I sent one copy to Brad’s computer. He immediately wanted to watch it… so I said, don’t watch your copy (I gave him the on-line version), and I booted up my system and watched it on this laptop. There was a collective amazement that I put together the piece. i’m glad they enjoyed it, as I had a blast researching the palace and splicing together the video. Probably one of the best comments was from Roger, “Do you have a YouTube page?”
  • Speaking of videos… I was very happy with the results from the YouTube community, especially my longtime friends who inquired about the camera I used, editing, and exporting techniques. I am by no means a great editor or filmer… but I do enjoy it and hope to get better with time.
  • VayCay… is going to be a bit of a downer. I for some reason thought we got our second week off in December… but I was wrong! It isn’t until February. I’m really not sure what I want to do for that week. Part of me wants to travel to another Asian country, but I wouldn’t also mind hitting up New Zealand or Eastern Australia. But the latter flights would be about as much as a ticket to San Francisco, and that has an appeal to me as well. I could see family and friends while on holiday. I have time to decide what to do, but I’m really torn as to what to do. In two weeks there’s a national Korean mud festival. I might head out for that. Sounds really entertaining!
Written by Steve Miller

July 1, 2008 at 7:58 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You’re the only American I’ve ever known to include Celsius/Fahrenheit and Kilometres/Miles conversations in a blog post. And I think that is very cool.

    John Laceay

    July 1, 2008 at 9:26 am

  2. this is such a cool blog! keep it up! 🙂

    Boryeong Mud Festival

    July 10, 2008 at 2:29 am


Leave a Reply

